Midnight Madness Grand Champion

September 16th, 2022

   Story courtesy of:  MIR


MECHANICSVILLE, MARYLAND (September 16th, 2022) - The 2022 Late Model Performance Midnight Madness series was filled with a mixture of rainy Friday nights and high gas prices. However, as the season heated up and wore on, the racing action became more intense. At the end of the Grand Championship Runoff, two champions would stand above the rest.

Pro Street, Super Street, and Hollyrock Customs Diesel Shootout event winners from 2022 and the final race in 2021, would race each other until one racer is standing from each class. These three racers would race each other to determine who the Grand Champion will be. The final in Pro Street came down to John Miller and Gary Moorman. Moorman would end up taking the win over Miller to be one the three vehicles in the Runoff. In Super Street, the final pair would be Chad Burch and older brother Keith Burch. Keith Burch was able to best Chad Burch to be the second vehicle. The Hollyrock Customs Diesel Shootout final came down to Bradley Farrell and AJ Jenkins with Jenkins advancing to the runoff and be the final vehicle.

The Late Model Performance Midnight Madness Grand Champion Run-off would be set Gary Moorman, Keith Burch, and AJ Jenkins would face each other for the championship. Burch would get the bye run leaving Moorman and Jenkins to race each other to head to the final. Moorman would take the round win setting himself up to face Burch for the Championship. Keith Burch would take the win in his 1974 Plymouth Duster to be the final driver left standing at the end of the runoff and be crowned your 2022 Late Model Performance Midnight Madness Grand Champion! Burch would also runner up in the Super Street category during the event.

The Bracket Bike Racing Matters Motorcycle Championship race had five riders at the start of the night. Francis Proctor Jr and Jeff Sweeney would face each other in the Run-off final. Francis Proctor Jr on his 2017 Kawasaki, would take the win and secure the Championship. The final drivers for the class would be between now Champion Briscoe and Jeff Sweeney. Proctor would be eliminated in the quarter-finals of the Bracket Bike Racing Matters Motorcycle category during the event.

Congratulations to all the class winners and class champions for 2022! We hope to see all of you back in 2023 for another stellar season of racing with the Late Model Performance Midnight Madness series!