MDIR Division 1 Summit Team Finals Champions

September, 27 2021

   Story courtesy of:  MDIR



TMECHANICSVILLE, MARYLAND (September 27th, 2021) – The IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Team Finals brought picture perfect weather Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Temperatures in the mid 70’s during the day, mid 50’s at night, and plenty of sunshine brought a much-needed change of pace in weather to those that traveled to Maryland International Raceway (MDIR). The energy was felt first thing Friday morning as racers from MDIR, Sumerduck Dragway, US13 Dragway (US13), and Roxboro Motorsports Park would be ready to duel it out all weekend long.

Friday’s Gamblers race would start with Time Trials at 10am. After the two time trials, eliminations would begin and the competition would be fierce. Vic Gordy from US13 Dragway would win Box, John Mattera from MDIR would win in No Box, and Nicholas Bowie from US13 Dragway would take the win with the Junior Dragsters. Friday’s event would also include a pit bike race, which would be won by MDIR’s AJ Jenkins.

Saturday’s Gamblers race would start at 9am with one time trial for all racers. Eliminations would start after the time trial was completed. Robbie Parlett from MDIR would win Box, Robert “Hambone” Copsey from Sumerduck would win No Box, and Nicholas Bowie from US13 would win again in Junior Dragster. Saturday would also have a High Roller Gamblers race added to the event. The High Roller Gamblers Winners would be Welsey Washington Jr from MDIR in Box, Bobby Mattera from MDIR in No Box, and Calvin Weaver from Sumerduck in Junior Dragster.

The Main Event on Sunday would bring drama early. During the First Round of Eliminations, the Top 4 teams in the Track Championship Points would swap or tie the top spot with each run. At the end of first round MDIR Team A would sit atop the points with 24, MDIR Team B and US13 Team A would be tied with 22, Sumerduck would sit with 16, US13 Team B with 13, and Roxboro with 9. During Second Round, many drivers would put up perfect rection times, however, Scott Holsey of Team Sumerduck would put together a perfect run with a triple zero reaction time and a dead on zero run on his dial on. The points lead for MDIR Team A, would continue to grow through the remainder of the day and turn into a runaway situation by the end of fourth round of eliminations.

MDIR Team A showed they wanted to bring the Division 1 Championship back to MDIR. Three of the four finals had two drivers from MDIR Team A racing for the win, the chance to go to Memphis, the Ironman, and the check. In Box, Robert Jones would best Wesley Washington Jr as Washington would go -.005 red on his reaction time. Patrick Estevez Jr would take the event win in No Box as Keven Yates would go -.009 red on his reaction time when leaving the tree. In Junior Dragster, Jordan Denny would beat Gayge Farrell in a double breakout situation at the finish line with Denny breaking out by less and hoisting the trophy in the end. In Sportsman, Kirk House from US13 Team B would win over Glenda Cochran from Roxboro.

The final points standings at the end of event would be MDIR Team A with an astounding 71 points, MDIR Team B with 46, US13 Team A with 35, US13 Team B with 27, Sumerduck with 25, and Roxboro with 13 points.

Best Appearing and Best Engineered judging would be selected by IHRA officials as drivers would sit in the staging lanes instead of representatives being voted by their peers then selected by an IHRA official as per usual. Below is who won each respective award.

  Award Name Track Hometown  
  Best Appearing Open Body Jimmy Tayman MDIR Mechanicsville, MD  
  Best Engineered Open Body Wayne Patton US13 Rhodesdale, MD  
  Best Appearing Full Body Tony Tull MDIR Annapolis, MD  
  Best Engineered Full Body Buddy McGowan MDIR Perry Hall, MD  
  Best Appearing Jr Dragster Jessi Tayman MDIR Mechanicsville, MD  
  Best Engineered Jr Dragster Jacob Nahory SD Pasadena, MD  
  Best Team Spirit   Roxboro    
  Best Appearing Team   US13    
  Best Decorated Grandstand   Maryland    

Congratulations again to Team MDIR for bringing the Division 1 Team Finals Championship back to MDIR!